Ciner miners - safety team

"At Ciner we truly believe the most important thing to come out of the mine are the miners"

Green River, WY – A seven-member team from a Green River soda ash mine recently posted the highest score in a national mine rescue contest to earn the title of the best rescue team in the nation.

Ciner Wyoming’s “Blue Team” earned the highest cumulative score in the national Mine Safety and Health Administration’s annual Metal/Non-Metal Mine Rescue Contest to become its overall champion. The team was one of more than 40 to compete in the contest, which was held in Lexington, Kentucky, July 23-26. Also competing for Ciner was its eight-member “White Team.”

Mine rescue competitions are designed to sharpen skills and test the knowledge of team members who would be called on to respond to a mine emergency. The contest requires team members to solve a hypothetical problem while being timed and observed by judges in accordance with complex rules.

“Congratulations to both our Blue and White Teams for their excellent performance at this year’s competition,” said Craig Rood, Ciner Wyoming’s Site Manager. “The teams worked hard to prepare for the event and they take pride, every day, in contributing to our culture where safety is a value, not just a priority.”

Overall champion honors are given to the team that has the best total score from three competitions: a field rescue competition, a technician team competition and a first aid competition.

Ciner’s teams consistently finished in or near the top four spots in all categories: 

  • Team Tech Competition: Ciner Blue, 2nd Place: Ciner White, 3rd Place
  • First Aid Competition: Ciner Blue, 3rd Place
  • Field Competition: Ciner White, 3rd Place; Ciner Blue, 4th Place

Mine Rescue White Team                                               Mine Rescue Blue Team

Zach Boylen                                                         Ryan Becenti

Joey Carter                                                           Kael Brady

Zach Cary                                                             Rich Clark

Jeiremy Gomez                                                     Brandon Finley

Paul Larson                                                          Jake Knutson

Kevin Mattinson                                                   Zachary Page

Ashley Osborne                                                    Dustin Smith

Kenderick Wilson


Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus